Nice incentives for donation via live webcast

A former student of mine kindly filled me in on a charity she is involved with, http://www.mariomarathon.com/. They do a marathon session of playing MarioBros games and take donations to provide kids in hospitals fun & games. That is something that resonates with me!

But what was really interesting is a simple mechanic they used… The live-cast their gameplaying session… and THANK donors live within 30 seconds of the donation coming in. The immediacy of that probably pushed me over the edge to donate, and then I got a completely irrational charge when my name was mentioned. Which is probably contributing to why I am writing about it on my blog :).

They didn’t invent the mechanic, but it is a good implementation of it! Nicely done folks!

Check them out at http://www.mariomarathon.com/.

Leave a Reply

